

February 11, 2016

The Honorable Mr. Barack Obama President of the United States of America The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President,

As members of parliament from Southeast Asia, dedicated to the promotion and protection of human rights, we write to express our desire for you to make discussion of human rights and the democratic aspirations of the people of ASEAN a priority during the upcoming summit at the Sunnylands estate in California on 15-16 February 2016.

As you are surely aware, democracy is struggling in Southeast Asia. Many countries in our region have taken dramatic steps backward in the past two years. While Southeast Asia appeared to be on the cusp of a genuine political transformation only a few years ago, more recently the region has instead witnessed military takeovers, the rollback of fundamental rights, intensifying government-sponsored discrimination against ethnic and religious minorities, and the increasing persecution of activists and opposition voices, including fellow parliamentarians.

These setbacks constitute a fundamental threat to the future of the ASEAN Community and the US relationship with it. While we recognize and understand your administration's desire to strengthen trade and security cooperation with Southeast Asian governments, we urge you to proceed with caution. Human rights, democracy, and basic dignity cannot take a backseat to economic or security prerogatives. Open dialogue on fundamental political and rights-based questions is vital to ensuring the sustainability of bilateral relationships and promoting broad-based benefits of trans-Pacific cooperation.

When you sit down with ASEAN leaders in California, we urge you to press them on unfulfilled human rights commitments and to directly raise specific concerns with them. Among the outstanding issues to address are the continued detention of political prisoners, the rampant violation of land rights through arbitrary land confiscation, the denial of free elections, and restrictions on fundamental rights to freedom of expression, association, and assembly that impact too many residents across the ASEAN Community.

We also urge you to continue to speak directly with civil society and listen to the voices of the people of ASEAN. In many cases, restrictive laws and government policies have made it harder for them to support the development of the democratic societies that are

vitally important to political and economic success. These individuals are our constituents and the true engines of dynamism and growth in the ASEAN region. Collaboration with the region's political and economic leadership must be paired with a genuine commitment to addressing the concerns of a broader spectrum of voices.

Our constituents demand and deserve governments that respect their rights and dignity. The United States is uniquely positioned to support our demands for accountability from our region's leaders, and the upcoming summit presents a distinct opportunity to do just that. We hope you will aid us in our efforts to achieve a more democratic and truly people-centered ASEAN Community.

Sincerely,

Son Chhay, MP Mao Monyvann, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Mu Sochua, MP Ngor Kim Cheang, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Botta Long, MP Nheng Ngim, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Chanrith Ou, MP Phirum Keo, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Chiv Cata, MP
Cambodia
Pol Ham, MP
Cambodia
Cambodia

Eng Chhai Eang, MP Sam An Um, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Ho Vann, MP Sor Chandeth, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Khy Vandeth, MP Te Chanmony, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Kong Kimhak, MP
Cambodia
Tep Sothy, MP
Cambodia

Lim Bun Sidareth, MP Yokda Tuon, MP

Cambodia Cambodia

Lim Kim Ya, MP Eva Sundari, MP

Cambodia Indonesia

Amelia Anggraini, MP

Indonesia

Ammy Amalia, MP

Indonesia

Charles Honoris, MP

Indonesia

Dwi Ria Latifa, MP

Indonesia

Ermalena, MP

Indonesia

Irma Suryani, MP

Indonesia

Itet Sumaryati, MP

Indonesia

Katherine Oendoen, MP

Indonesia

Melai Leimina Suharli, MP

Indonesia

Mercy Chriesty Barends, MP

Indonesia

Neni Moerniaeni, MP

Indonesia

Nihayatul Wafiroh, MP

Indonesia

Reni Marlinawati, MP

Indonesia

Sirmaji, MP

Indonesia

Tuti N Roosdiono, MP

Indonesia

Charles Santiago, MP

Malaysia

Abdullah Sani Hamid, MP

Malaysia

Alice Lau Kiong Yieng, MP

Malaysia

Anwar Ibrahim, MP

Malaysia

Azman Ismail, MP

Malaysia

Chong Chien Jen, MP

Malaysia

Dr. Ko Chung Sen, MP

Malaysia

Dr. Ong Kian Ming, MP

Malaysia

Er Teck Hwa, MP

Malaysia

Fauzi Abdul Rahman, MP

Malaysia

Fong Kui Lun, MP

Malaysia

Fuziah Salleh, MP

Malaysia

G. Manivannan, MP

Malaysia

Gobind Singh Deo, MP

Malaysia

Gooi Hsiao-Leung, MP

Malaysia

Hee Loy Sian, MP

Malaysia

Ignatius Dorell Leiking, MP

Malaysia

Jeff Ooi Chuan Aun, MP

Malaysia

Johari Abdul, MP

Malaysia

Julian Tan Kok Ping, MP

Malaysia

Kamaruddin Jafar, MP

Malaysia

Kamarul Baharin Abbas, MP

Malaysia

Kasthuri Patto, MP

Malaysia

Khalid bin Abd. Samad, MP

Malaysia

Lee Boon Chye, MP

Malaysia

Liew Chin Tong, MP

Malaysia

Lim Guan Eng, MP

Malaysia

Lim Kit Siang, MP

Malaysia

Lim Lip Eng, MP

Malaysia

Loke Siew Fook, MP

Malaysia

M. Kulasegaran, MP

Malaysia

Mansour Othman, MP

Malaysia

Michael Teo Yu Keng, MP

Malaysia

Mohamad Imran Hamid, MP

Malaysia

Mohamed Azmin Ali, MP

Malaysia

Mohamed Hanipa Maidin, MP

Malaysia

Mohd Ariff Sabri bin Abdul Aziz, MP

Malaysia

Mohd Idris Jusi, MP

Malaysia

Mohd Rafizi Ramli, MP

Malaysia

Mohd Hatta Md. Ramli, MP

Malaysia

Mujahid bin Yusof, MP

Malaysia

N. Surendran, MP

Malaysia

Ng Wei Aik, MP

Malaysia

Nga Kor Ming, MP

Malaysia

Ngeh Koo Ham, MP

Malaysia

Nurul Izzah Anwar, MP Teo Kok Seong, MP Malaysia Malaysia Oscar Ling Chai Yew, MP Teo Nie Ching, MP Malaysia Malaysia R. Sivarasa, MP Teresa Kok Suh Sim, MP Malaysia Malaysia Raja Kamarul Bahrin Shah Bin Raja Tian Chua, MP Ahmad, MP Malaysia Malaysia Tony Pua Kiam Wee, MP Malaysia Ramkarpal Singh, MP Malaysia William Keong Jee Keen, MP Shamsul Iskandar Akin, MP Malaysia Malaysia Wong Chen, MP Sim Chee Keong, MP Malaysia Malaysia Wong Ling Biu, MP Sim Tong Him, MP Malaysia Malaysia Wong Sze Phin, MP Sim Tze Tzin, MP Malaysia Malaysia Wong Tien Fatt, MP Siti Mariah binti Mahmud, MP Malaysia Malaysia Zairil Khir Johari, MP Sivakumar Varatharaju Naidu, MP Malaysia Malaysia Zuraida Kamaruddin, MP Su Keong Siong, MP Malaysia Malaysia U Shwe Maung, former MP

Tan Kee Kwong, MP

Tan Kok Wai, MP Malaysia

Tan Seng Giaw, MP

Malaysia

Malaysia

Charles Chong, MP

Singapore

Myanmar

Kraisak Choonhavan, former MP

Thailand

Rachada Dhnadirek, former MP Thailand

Weng Tojirakarn, former MP Thailand